NRL 2022 match: Rugby league returns to Sydney as NRL, NRLW and Origin draws released

The NRL today confirmed full schedules for their men’s and women’s competitions ahead of their upcoming seasons, with the delayed NRLW starting with a triple stand-alone title in late February before the start of the NRL in early March.

After a postponement of women’s competition earlier this year, the NRL has organized a seven-week season that will run early next year before its fifth campaign later in 2022.

The St. George Foundation club Illawarra will kick off the rescheduled season against the Gold Coast newcomers at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle.

They will then be followed by a big rematch between the Brisbane Broncos and the Sydney Roosters before Newcastle face Parramatta to close the first round.

The matches will then be moved to WIN Stadium in Wollongong for a second round of free-standing three-headed matches.

The NRLW will then align their schedule with the NRL from the third round, with matches scheduled alongside the men’s competition throughout March, including doubles matches.

Similar excitement surrounds the opening rounds of the NRL season as last year’s grand finalists Penrith take on Manly, home of Dally M winner Tom Trbojevic, in the opener on Thursday March 10 at Panthers Stadium .


The match marks the return of the NRL to Sydney for the first time since July after the pandemic forced the 2021 season to end in Queensland.

Other first-round games include the Warriors facing St. George on the Sunshine Coast, while former Rabbitohs half-back Adam Reynolds will lead Brisbane against his former club.

Elsewhere, the Roosters face Newcastle, while new Sharks boss Craig Fitzgibbons opens his new training chapter against the Raiders in Canberra.

Finally, the closing of the first round will be that of the Wests Tigers against the Melbourne Storm, which will be without suspended stars Cameron Munster and Brandon Smith, before Parramatta faces Newcastle and North Queensland plays the Bulldogs.

The league draw also accompanies confirmed dates for the State of Origin 2022 series.

The first match will take place at Stadium Australia in Sydney on June 8 before moving on to Optus Stadium in Perth for the second match on June 26.

Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane will host the third and final match on July 13.

Source link

About Fredrick Sizemore

Check Also

T-Birds lead Canadian university men’s rugby championship

History links VANCOUVER – It’s that time of year again when the UBC Thunderbirds usually …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *