Women’s Rugby World Cup: the Scottish trio return for the qualifying event

Jade Konkel missed this year’s Six Nations to attend firefighter training in London

Captain Rachel Malcolm is back from a knee injury to lead Scotland in the Rugby World Cup qualifiers in Europe.

Harlequins duo Jade Konkel and Sarah Bonar are also returning after missing the Six Nations due to professional commitments.

Scotland will face Ireland, Spain and Italy in a round robin format, with all matches in Parma on September 13, 19 and 25.

The winners secure a place for the World Cup, while the runner-up will take part in a final qualifying tournament.

Head Coach Bryan Easson said: “The selection of the team has been difficult as the players have really improved during our recent training camps.

“In this round robin, every game counts and we know we have to get to work.

“We know our opponents very well and we know they will each present very different game plans, but we firmly believe that we have the ability to adapt to any challenge that may arise.”

England, Wales, France, Australia, South Africa, Canada, the United States and Fiji are already guaranteed places, as well as the hosts and holders of New Zealand, for the World Cup finals, which will run from October 8 to November 12, 2022.

Scotland Team

Forwards: Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning), Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park), Sarah Bonar (Harlequins), Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County), Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park), Katie Dougan (Hillhead Jordanhill), Eva Donaldson (Edinburgh University )), Evie Gallagher (County Stirling), Jade Konkel (Harlequins), Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning), Rachel McLachlan (No Tie), Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill), Lana Skeldon (No Tie), Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) , Molly Wright (Watsoniens).

Back: Abi Evans (Darlington Mowden Park), Megan Gaffney (Heriot’s), Sarah Law (Unattached), Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning), Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning), Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill), Liz Musgrove (Unattached) , Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning), Chloe Rollie (No tie), Rachel Shankland (County Stirling), Hannah Smith (Watsonians), Lisa Thomson (No tie), Evie Wills (County Stirling).

Source link

About Fredrick Sizemore

Check Also

Nigel Owens column: Rugby is at a crossroads and players must take responsibility – Nigel Owens

There has been a lot of talk lately about player well-being and concussions in rugby. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *